How to Start a Daycare in Louisiana

Learn how to get a childcare license in Louisiana, from a Type I, II, or III license to your first LDOE inspection.

(Only visible when editing pages) Click here to configure the hidden form.

Quick answer: How do I start a daycare in Louisiana?

To start a daycare in Louisiana, you need a license from the Louisiana Department of Education (LDOE) if you care for seven or more children for at least 12.5 hours a week. Choose a Type I, II, or III early learning center license, apply in EdLink, pass fire, health, and LDOE inspections plus background checks, and pay annual licensing fees. Family child care providers who care for up to six children in their homes register with LDOE instead.

In this guide

Louisiana daycare licensing at a glance

Louisiana licensing by program type (source: LDOE Bulletin 137 and Bulletin 139)
Requirement Family child care provider Early learning center
Capacity Up to 6 children, in the provider's home 7 or more children for at least 12.5 hours a week
Authorization Registration with LDOE, then CCAP certification Type I, II, or III early learning center license
Minimum age 18 (CCAP certification) 21 (director or director designee)
Staff-to-child ratio 6:1 5:1 for infants up to 23:1 for ages 6 and up
Indoor space Not specified in the rules read 35 square feet of usable space per child
Fees No fee published on the pages read $25 application fee, applied to an annual licensure fee of $25 to $250 based on capacity
Inspections Allow inspection of the residence by LDOE staff Unannounced, at least once a year
Processing time Up to 90 days for a center license application, if all required documentation is submitted

Sources: LDOE Bulletin 137, Louisiana's early learning center licensing regulations, Bulletin 139, Child Care and Development Fund programs, and LDOE Child Care Facility Licensing.

Do I need a childcare license in Louisiana?

Yes, in most cases. Louisiana requires every early learning center to be licensed before it begins operating. A child day care center is a place that cares for seven or more children, not counting the caregiver's own, who are unaccompanied by a parent or legal custodian, on a regular basis for at least 12.5 hours in a continuous seven-day week. Hours spent transporting children count toward the 12.5. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 103 and LDOE Child Care Facility Licensing.

LDOE may assess a civil fine of up to $1,000 for each day of knowing and continued unlicensed operation of an early learning center, and may sue in district court for an injunction. Source: R.S. 17:407.37. Bulletin 137 adds that LDOE publishes a statewide registry of people and entities under such a court order. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 305. Under state criminal law, a person who keeps operating after LDOE notifies them to seek a license, or after a license is revoked, faces a fine of up to $1,000, up to six months in jail, or both for a first offense, with higher penalties for repeat offenses. Source: R.S. 14:91.15.

Before you start, write a child care business plan and decide which license or registration type fits your program.

Which programs do not need an early learning center license?

Louisiana's rules exempt BESE-approved nonpublic or public day schools serving kindergarten and above (including attached pre-kindergarten, with exceptions), camps, and all care given without charge. A center run by a recognized tax-exempt religious organization that operates no more than 24 hours in a continuous seven-day week is not considered an early learning center. A registered family child day care home or Mother's Day Out program is also exempt from the licensing rules, and programs licensed or operated by the Louisiana Department of Health, the Department of Children and Family Services, or the U.S. Department of Defense fall outside the bulletin. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 303.

Type I license

This license is issued to an early learning center owned or operated by a church or religious organization that is tax-exempt under Section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code and receives no state or federal funds directly or indirectly from any source. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 307(A).

Type II license

This license is issued to an early learning center that receives no state or federal funds directly or indirectly from any source, or whose only state or federal funds come from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's food and nutrition programs. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 307(B).

Type III license

This license is issued to an early learning center that directly or indirectly receives state or federal funds from any source other than the federal food and nutrition programs. Type III centers must meet the performance and academic standards of the Early Childhood Care and Education Network regarding kindergarten readiness, and need academic approval from LDOE before a license is issued. Source: Bulletin 137, Sections 307(C) and 701(E).

Family child care and home-based options

Louisiana treats care in a provider's home differently from a center. A family child care provider cares for up to six children in the provider's home and registers with LDOE rather than obtaining a center license. A home-based, or in-home, provider cares for a child in the child's own home. Both types then become certified for the Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP), which helps eligible families pay for care while they work or attend school. LDOE's process has three steps: registration, an LDOE inspection, and provider certification. Start on the LDOE home-based child care page. Source: LDOE home-based child care centers page.

To be CCAP-certified, a family child care provider must be at least 18, care for no more than six children under age 13 (or under 18 with special needs), keep a 6:1 ratio, have a working telephone in the residence, provide written State Fire Marshal approval for the residence, and show a child care criminal background check (CCCBC) determination for required persons. The provider also checks the Louisiana sex offender and child predator registry each year, keeps daily attendance records, maintains first aid supplies, and writes an emergency preparedness plan. Source: Bulletin 139, Section 309.

Download now

Childcare Licensing and Compliance Checklist

Download this free checklist to simplify the childcare licensing process.

What are the childcare licensing requirements in Louisiana?

Director qualifications

A director or director designee must be at least 21 and have documentation, on the date of hire, of at least one of the following. Each path is subject to LDOE approval where noted.

  • An early childhood ancillary certificate and one year of experience in teaching or care in a licensed early learning center or comparable setting.
  • A national administrator credential and one year of experience in teaching or care in a licensed early learning center or comparable setting, plus 6 credit hours or 90 clock hours of training in child care, child development, early childhood, or management or administration.
  • Three years of experience as a director or staff member in a licensed early learning center or comparable setting, plus 6 credit hours or 90 clock hours of the same kind of training approved by the department.
  • Current or prior employment at a school as a principal, assistant principal, or headmaster, and either a graduate degree in any area from an accredited institution, principalship on a valid Louisiana teaching certificate, or a valid Louisiana Educational Leader (EDL) certificate.

A director who was qualified on the date of hire stays qualified while continuously employed at the same or another licensed center without a break in service of more than 90 days. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 1709. A center must have a qualified director or director designee who is an on-site, full-time staff person during daytime hours of operation (before 9 p.m.), and Bulletin 137 defines full-time as physical presence at the center Monday through Friday for at least 32 hours. A staff-in-charge covers when the director or designee is away. Source: Bulletin 137, Sections 1707 and 103.

Space and physical environment

  • Indoor space. At least 35 square feet of usable indoor space per child. Toilet facilities, hallways, lofts, storage, stairways, lockers, offices, food preparation areas, and rooms used only for dining, sleeping, or ill-child care do not count. A center may ask the State Fire Marshal and LDOE to approve 25 square feet per child, starting August 1 each academic year, in space used only by children who are age four or older by September 30.Source: Bulletin 137, Section 1903(D).
  • Outdoor space. At least 75 square feet of outdoor play space per child using it at one time, available for at least one third of licensed capacity. It must be reachable through a direct exit or protected path, and enclosed by a permanent fence or barrier. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 1903(E).
  • Lead risk assessment. For a site first placed in operation on or after August 1, 2026, LDOE's checklist asks for a risk assessment of the facility and grounds for paint, dust, and soil lead hazards. Source: LDOE Initial Licensure Checklist.
  • Insurance. A center must keep current commercial liability insurance that covers children's medical costs after an accident or injury, and commercial automobile insurance if it provides transportation. Source: Bulletin 137, General Liability Insurance Policy and LDOE Initial Licensure Checklist.

Staff training

  • CPR and pediatric first aid. All staff on the premises who are accessible to children need current infant, child, and adult CPR and pediatric first aid certification, with copies on site. New hires must be certified within 90 calendar days of hire and be supervised until then. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 1723 and LDOE provider update, September 2024. Find approved trainers in the CPR and pediatric first aid trainer list.
  • Orientation. Within seven calendar days of the first day, and before taking sole responsibility for children, each staff member completes center-specific orientation, LDOE Key Training Module 1, and the DCFS online mandated reporter training. Within 30 calendar days, and before sole responsibility, each staff member completes LDOE Key Orientation Training Modules 2 and 3. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 1719.
  • Continuing education. Staff who are left alone with children or have supervisory authority complete at least 12 clock hours per center anniversary year. Other staff complete at least 3. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 1721.

Louisiana child care center staff-to-child ratios

A center needs at least two staff members present when more than four children are present, and only staff directly caring for children count toward ratios. For mixed-age groups, the age of the youngest child sets the ratio when any child is under two. For ages two through five, an average of the ratios may be applied. See also brightwheel's guide to childcare ratios. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 1711.

Louisiana early learning center ratios and maximum group sizes (source: Bulletin 137, Section 1711)
Age Child-to-staff ratio Maximum group size
Infants under 1 year 5:1 15
1 year 7:1 21
2 years 10:1 20
3 years 13:1 26
4 years 15:1 30
5 years 19:1 38
6 years and up 23:1 46

LDOE's child-to-staff ratio form must be posted in each room, and ratios apply on field trips with one additional adult. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 1711.

What do Louisiana daycare licensing fees cost?

All fees are paid to LDOE through its online electronic payment system and are nonrefundable. LDOE does not accept cash, business checks, or personal checks. Source: LDOE annual licensing fees and Bulletin 137, Section 707.

  • Initial application fee. $25, applied toward your total licensure fee, which is due before the license is issued and no later than 90 calendar days after LDOE receives your complete initial packet.
  • Changes that need a new license. $25 for changes such as capacity, name, age range, or transportation outside regular renewal. A duplicate license with no changes costs $5.

Louisiana annual licensure fees by capacity (source: Bulletin 137, Section 313)
Licensed capacity Annual licensure fee
15 or fewer children $25
16 to 50 children $100
51 to 100 children $175
101 or more children $250

Annual licensure fees do not apply to Type I centers operated by churches or religious organizations. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 313(C).

Approvals required before LDOE issues a license

LDOE issues a license on a completed initial application once it receives written verification of all of the following. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 701(E).

  • Approval from the Office of State Fire Marshal.
  • Approval from the Louisiana Department of Health, Office of Public Health.
  • City fire approval, if applicable.
  • Zoning approval or certificate of occupancy, if applicable. LDOE's checklist lists St. Bernard Parish, St. Charles Parish, New Orleans, Shreveport, Baton Rouge, Minden, Bossier City, Amite, Zachary, and Monroe.
  • Academic approval from LDOE, for Type III centers.
  • The full licensure fee.
  • A licensure inspection verifying compliance with all minimum standards.
  • A CCCBC-based determination of eligibility for child care purposes for all owners, operators, and staff.
  • Written documentation of ownership of the center.

Child care criminal background checks (CCCBC)

Criminal background checks are required for staff working in child care and family child care settings. The process begins on the Louisiana Child Care Civil Background Check System and includes a fingerprint-based criminal history check. Fingerprinting moved to IDEMIA on May 8, 2023, which offers No Charge Authorization Codes backed by a major credit card. See the list of prohibited offenses and the Criminal Background Check Instructions for Child Care Providers for steps. Source: LDOE Child Care Criminal Background Checks page.

A CCCBC includes fingerprint-based state and federal criminal history searches, a search of the Louisiana central registry of child abuse and neglect, state and national sex offender registry searches, and name-based checks in any other state where the person lived in the past five years. LDOE then determines whether the person is eligible or ineligible for child care purposes, and charges a $15 processing fee plus the agency fees it collects on their behalf. A staff member whose eligible determination was issued within the past five years to another in-state child care provider may have it shared with a new employer, if the person is still employed in child care. Bulletin 137 does not state a renewal or expiration period for a determination. Source: Bulletin 137, Sections 1803, 1811, and 1815.

How do I apply for a childcare license in Louisiana?

How do I apply for an early learning center license in Louisiana?

  • Find a facility that meets the physical requirements. Check local zoning and building ordinances before you buy or lease, and make sure the building can meet Bulletin 137, State Fire Marshal, and Department of Health requirements. See our tips for marketing your child care business when comparing locations. Source: LDOE Initial Licensure Checklist.
  • Find a qualified director and get insurance. Hire a director who meets Section 1709, and obtain commercial liability insurance with medical coverage. Source: LDOE Initial Licensure Checklist.
  • Complete CCCBCs. Documentation of a CCCBC-based determination, or a criminal background check, for each owner, director, and designee is part of the application. Source: LDOE Initial Licensure Checklist.
  • Submit your application in EdLink with the $25 fee. The application is not complete until you upload fire marshal and health approvals (and city fire approval if applicable), the risk assessment results, your general liability policy, academic approval (Type III only), signed documentation of ownership, director and designee qualifications, and photos of the center front, kitchen, direct exit to play space, and enclosed outdoor play space. Apply in EdLink. Source: LDOE Initial Licensure Checklist and Bulletin 137, Section 701.
  • Answer requests for missing information quickly. If your application is incomplete, you have 21 calendar days to submit what is missing, or LDOE closes the application and keeps the fee. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 701(D).
  • Request inspections and schedule LDOE's visit. Once LDOE tells you the application is complete, you have 45 calendar days to coordinate the on-site LDOE inspection. You are responsible for obtaining the State Fire Marshal, Office of Public Health, and city fire inspections and approvals. The inspection includes measuring indoor and outdoor space. Source: Bulletin 137, Sections 701(D) and 703.
  • Pay the full licensure fee and receive your license. LDOE notifies you of the total fee based on capacity. A license is issued when all approvals are in. You may not begin operating until LDOE approves. Source: Bulletin 137, Sections 701(E) and 703(B) and LDOE Initial Licensure Checklist.

After you are licensed and have chosen a name for your program, you can start marketing your daycare in your community.

Application processing timeframes

LDOE lists these timeframes, and they can be longer when documentation is missing. Source: LDOE Child Care Facility Licensing.

  • Application for licensure or change of location: up to 90 days.
  • Application for change of ownership: up to 30 days.
  • Change report for a capacity increase, age range, adding transportation, or adding a director or designee: up to 30 days each.

How do I register a family child care or home-based program in Louisiana?

Family child care and in-home providers register with LDOE and then become CCAP-certified, rather than applying for a center license. LDOE's home-based page lists these items for registration. Source: LDOE home-based child care centers page.

  • A copy of a valid driver's license or government-issued photo ID, and a copy of the Social Security card.
  • A pre-service orientation certificate and a completed emergency plan.
  • A CCCBC with "Eligible for Child Care Purposes" status for the provider, household members who are 18 or older, and support staff, if applicable.
  • A certificate of completion of CPR and pediatric first aid.
  • A certificate of completion of medication administration training from an Early Childhood Health and Safety Trainer.
  • An Office of State Fire Marshal inspection.

LDOE inspects the home within 30 days of receiving the documents. To be paid for CCAP-approved children, providers then complete CCAP certification, which also requires a W-9, a direct deposit form, a voided check or bank letter, residence verification, a time and attendance agreement, and verification of the rates charged. Providers can begin serving children once these steps are complete, but LDOE pays only for CCAP-approved children. Source: LDOE home-based child care centers page. For CCAP certification standards, see Bulletin 139, Section 309.

Whether you open a center or a home program, write a comprehensive child care business plan and use proven marketing strategies to attract families. Once you are licensed, childcare management software can help you run your program. See brightwheel's Louisiana childcare licensing requirements and compare other states in our childcare licensing requirements by state.

How do I stay compliant with my Louisiana daycare license?

Renew your license on time

Submit your renewal application and the full annual licensure fee in EdLink before the first day of the month in which your license expires. LDOE does not send a renewal notice, and a license that expires means the center must stop operating by close of business on the expiration date and apply for a new license to resume. Renewal also requires current approvals from the State Fire Marshal, Office of Public Health, and city fire (if applicable), and academic approval for Type III centers. Use the LDOE Licensing Renewal Checklist to prepare. Source: Bulletin 137, Sections 711 and 713.

Do not transfer a license

A license applies only to the location stated on it. If the location or owner changes, the license becomes null and void, and the new owner or location needs a new application. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 709.

Report changes

Changes such as capacity, name, age range, and transportation require a $25 administrative fee and a new or reissued license. Changes of ownership, location, or license type require the full licensure fee with the application. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 707. LDOE can waive a minimum standard only when the state superintendent finds the economic impact so great that compliance is impractical and health and well-being are not imperiled. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 319.

Expect annual inspections

LDOE inspects each center at regular intervals not to exceed one year, without prior notice, and must be given access to the center, children, files, records, and recordings during operating hours. Keep 12 months of activity documentation available for renewal and other inspections. Source: Bulletin 137, Sections 315, 705, and 713.

Practice emergency drills

Maintain a written multi-hazard emergency and evacuation plan, review it annually and with all staff once a year, and run practice drills that include all children at least twice a year. Hold tornado drills at least once a month from March through June. Keep an evacuation pack in a location every staff member knows. Source: Bulletin 137, Section 1921.

Maintain required documentation

Report critical incidents

Bulletin 137 requires centers to make immediate notification of critical incidents involving children in care, such as a death, a serious injury or illness needing medical attention, a child left unsupervised for any amount of time, allegations of abuse or neglect by staff, and any loss of power over two hours. Source: LDOE provider update, September 2024.

Getting your childcare license is just the beginning. Launching your program takes planning, tools, and reliable support. That’s why brightwheel offers a dedicated New Program Experience designed to guide you every step of the way. With our all-in-one platform, you can simplify enrollment, set up billing plans, and stay on track for a smooth, successful opening.

quote I would say that if you are a new program that you should definitely jump on brightwheel and just experience it. It’s tools that help make your life easier as the owner and director. There’s no reason not to, with the cost and the effectiveness, it’s 100% a yes for me.” Crystal D., Owner & Director at Lil’ Ranch Hands Family Childcare Home in Minco, OK

quote As I build my new program, the billing features are a game changer. I can easily invoice parents, and everything is automatically tracked—especially helpful come tax season.” Emily K., Owner of Emily Finzen Childcare in Lake Benton, MN

quote Experience Curriculum allows you to lean into creativity while following the curriculum. It’s all right there, it’s all prepared for you, and then you can lean into it.” Leinani G., Owner of Creative Minds Learning Academy in Bothell, WA

quote Brightwheel helps us in every way possible. From their onboarding and support team to the features that keep us organized, on track with planning, and communicating smoothly as a team to parents and each other. I couldn't imagine a better management system for our program." Harida H., Administrator at Play Pals Daycare in Maumee, OH

What financial resources are available for Louisiana childcare providers?

Yes. Grants are financial awards from government agencies or private foundations that do not need to be repaid. You can use them for facility updates, equipment, or staff training. Review current grants for childcare providers in Louisiana to find options that fit your program.

  • Child Care Assistance Program (CCAP). LDOE's CCAP helps eligible families pay for child care. Family child care and in-home providers become CCAP-certified after registering with LDOE. Source: LDOE home-based child care centers page.
  • Type III license. A center that receives state or federal funds, other than federal food and nutrition programs, holds a Type III license and needs LDOE academic approval. Source: Bulletin 137, Sections 307 and 701(E).
  • School readiness tax credits. Bulletin 139 describes school readiness tax credits for child care facility expenses, facilities, directors and staff, and business-supported facilities. Source: Bulletin 139, Chapter 7.

Frequently asked questions

Do I need a license to start a daycare in Louisiana?

Yes, if you care for seven or more children, not counting your own, for at least 12.5 hours in a continuous seven-day week. You then need an early learning center license from the Louisiana Department of Education. Family child care providers who care for up to six children in their homes register with LDOE and become CCAP-certified instead.

How much does a Louisiana daycare license cost?

A $25 application fee is applied toward your annual licensure fee, which is based on licensed capacity: $25 for 15 or fewer children, $100 for 16 to 50, $175 for 51 to 100, and $250 for 101 or more. Type I centers operated by churches or religious organizations do not pay the annual fee. A $25 administrative fee applies to changes such as capacity, name, age range, or transportation.

How long does it take to get a daycare license in Louisiana?

LDOE lists up to 90 days for an application for licensure or a change of location, and up to 30 days for a change of ownership. If all required documentation is not submitted, there will be additional delays.

What are the staff-to-child ratios in Louisiana?

Louisiana's early learning center ratios are 5:1 for infants under 1 year, 7:1 at age 1, 10:1 at age 2, 13:1 at age 3, 15:1 at age 4, 19:1 at age 5, and 23:1 for ages 6 and up. At least two staff must be present when more than four children are present.

Can I run a daycare from my home in Louisiana?

Yes. A family child care provider cares for up to six children in the provider's home and registers with the Louisiana Department of Education, then becomes certified for the Child Care Assistance Program. Registration requires an Office of State Fire Marshal inspection and an LDOE inspection of the home. Check local zoning too.

What background checks are required for Louisiana daycare staff?

Owners, directors, and staff need a child care criminal background check (CCCBC) determination, which begins on LDOE's Child Care Civil Background Check System and includes a fingerprint-based criminal history check through the fingerprinting vendor IDEMIA.

Final thoughts

Securing a childcare license is a critical first step in launching a program in Louisiana. Designed with new childcare programs in mind, brightwheel's software streamlines operations, improves communication, and supports your program's growth from day one, and you can begin setting it up before you open.


Brightwheel is an all-in-one childcare management software that saves time and simplifies operations for early education providers. From billing and parent communication to curriculum and admissions, it combines everything you need in one easy-to-use platform. Trusted by millions of educators and families and backed by a dedicated support team, brightwheel strengthens family connections and ensures seamless operations with reliable performance and robust security. With brightwheel, you’ll spend less time on admin, more time with children.

Subscribe to the brightwheel blog